Civil Society Cyber Shield (under OCF International Program)

以資安保護公民社會

Citizen groups tend to engage in sensitive issues and thus become the target of cyber attack. But at the same time, they usually lack the resources to defend themselves. In this case, their work can be threatened by network monitoring, cyber attack, network blockade, network interruption, and Internet censorship. Taiwan has always been famous for its active information security community and civil society. Therefore, Civil Society Cyber Shield hopes to combine these two specialties of Taiwan and serve as the connection between technology experts and citizens. By connecting these two groups of people, we can improve the information security of citizen groups.

Introduction

Introduction

Taiwan has internationally-acclaimed open source community and active civil society. To connect these two groups, international affairs section of OCF, New School of Democracy, HITCON, and Taiwan Association for Human Rights developed a project named Civil Society Cyber Shield (CSCS) to help social activists reach the latest information security tools, fight against cyber threats, and promote social issues in a safe online environment.

Besides, Taiwan is one of the few highly democratic countries in Asia, so we hope we can foster an international information security support network to provide high-quality training courses for social activists and other high-risk communities in Asia.

In 2017, we hosted an information security and privacy protection workshop for human rights activists in East Asia. 50 participants and various international organizations from over 14 different countries were invited to Taiwan, which facilitates collaborations and training courses in many Southeast Asian countries.

In 2018, we started a training project for those who would like to become information security trainers. Through this project, we hope to nurture information security talents, bridge the communication between citizen groups and IT communities, and foster more international collaborations. We have invited many experts from both Taiwan’s citizen groups and IT communities to join our projects, and we will keep promoting our in-house training and international training projects.

Our mission

We team up with organizations from both home and abroad to host workshops and training courses of international information security.
We foster teachers for international information security training courses.
We establish support network between local and global information security communities.
We serve as the connection between Taiwan’s IT community and citizen groups.

公民團體資安暨隱私交流計劃

以資安保護公民社會

公民團體本身的敏感性,同時又欠缺相關資源,讓他們在利用資訊科技進行他們的工作的時候,安全容易受到威脅,例如網路監控、針對性的網路攻擊、網路封鎖、干擾和審查。台灣活躍的資安社群和公民社會一直在世界上廣為人知。Civil Society Cyber Shield 期待掌握台灣此二強項,扮演科技人士和公民社會的橋樑,藉由連結雙方,提升公民團體使用資訊科技的安全。

計畫說明

台灣擁有在國際間相當知名的開源社群,亦有著極為活躍的公民社會。為了促進這兩個社群之間的交流,開放文化基金會國際交流組與華人民主書院、台灣駭客協會、台灣人權促進會共四個組織共同開啟 CSCS 專案:Civil Society Cyber Shield,讓社會運動與組織者能夠接觸最新的資安工具、對抗資安威脅,在安全的線上環境中推動社會議題。

同時,台灣身為亞洲少數高度民主的國家,更期許以豐厚的民主土壤培養跨國資安支援網絡,將高品質的資安培訓提供到亞洲各國活躍的更多社會運動者與高危險社群。 2017 年,在台灣舉辦「東亞及華人社群人權工作者資安隱私保護工作坊」,超過 14 國、50 位跨國參加者及多個國際組織共襄盛舉,開啟後續更多深度合作,後半年起並於東南亞數國舉辦數場資安培訓。

2018年,為提高台灣資安講師人力、促進公民團體與資訊科技社群交流、並促成更多台灣社群與國際團體的跨界合作,舉辦「資安種子講師培訓」,邀請台灣公民組織及資訊專業者參與,並持續進行組織內部培訓、跨國資安培訓。

工作內容

➔ 結合國內外團體,在台灣舉辦國際資安工作坊、培訓課程。
➔ 培訓資安培訓講師,擔任跨國專業資安培訓人員。
➔ 建立國內與國際間資安社群聯繫網絡。
➔ 建立台灣資訊社群與公民組織間之聯繫。

計畫成果