header image for Ranking Digital Rights (RDR) Taiwan

Ranking Digital Rights (RDR) Taiwan

From Knowledge to Accountability

In the digital era, the promotion of human rights and data-based services and products are intimately connected. OCF and our international partners are using knowledge as power, and using international standards to evaluate the standards related to free-speech management and personal information protection used by Taiwanese corporations.

Project Background

In highly digitized societies, not only are the connections between our offline and online lives increasingly dense, the amount of time we spend living online is also increasing. Whether our rights are protected online is highly dependent on the type of digital services and standards set by big corporations. As private entities, many corporations have the ability to control large social media platforms and communication services. It could be said that they have become the protectors of the public sphere in the digital era, able to decide user’s access to freedom of information and speech. In addition, such corporations have access to large amounts of digital trace data on users and can thus make large profit through utilizing and sharing this large scale data. Their influence on our personal privacy can thus not be understated.

In recent years, public scandals such as Cambridge Analytica and their inappropriate use of personal information have made both governments and consumers increasingly aware of the responsibility of corporations to protect our personal information and freedoms of speech. Big digital players like Google and Facebook have already been pressured into committing to improve their internal governance, to make their policies more transparent, and to ensure that other corporations also protect human rights. Many countries in Europe and the Americas have continued to produce new legislation relating to this issue, such as America’s proposed Federal Online Privacy Act or the European Union’s 2018 General Data Protection Regulation, GDPR. These laws all increase the responsibility of corporations to protect digital human rights. For example, by making them formally evaluate their influence over personal data protection, and requiring them to strengthen their systems for reporting personal data breaches. GDPR extended such responsibilities to all private foreign companies providing services and products to EU citizens. In Taiwan, in addition to the frequent reports of how digital services have eroded our personal privacy, in recent years, more attention has been paid to the potential threat that Chinese investments in corporations pose to the protection of our freedom of speech. The “digital human rights'' conference held in January 2022 that was co-hosted by the National Human Rights Council, Taiwan (國家人權委員會) and the Digital Trade and Data Protection Assocation (中華民國數位金融交易暨資料保護協會) further highlighted the serious challenge that private industry poses to our human rights. Because of this, the question of how to protect human rights in the digital age is a key concern for both consumers and the government alike.

OCF's core value is to promote open tech, and by doing so, protect human rights in the digital age and ensure internet freedom. OCF’s existing projects already include many efforts to promote open source innovation to a larger public, and to promote open data to the government. When dealing with private corporations, what action should we take? We believe that working with our global partners and private corporations, we should work to promote transparency as to how digital platforms and services are protecting our human rights and promote a positive environment of competition and accountability. Due to a lack of information on how corporations are protecting our rights in Taiwan, OCF has started to use an international standard to produce new data. We will use this data as part of our future activism, and also as a way to connect Taiwan to the rest of the world, making sure we take our seat at the table of digital human rights discussion.

Project Description

Ranking Digital Rights ,RDR is an international evaluatuion tool developed by the American public think tank New America Foundation. They want to create a standardized system to measure the extent to which corporations in every country are protecting digital human rights during their operation and service provision to consumers. There are already participants in the RDR system from many places where transnational corporations are operating, including locations in the Americas, Africa, Europe and Asia. Many participating corporations participate every year and try each time to achieve a higher ranking as a way to prove their dedication to protecting digital human rights. The types of corporations included are divided into the two groups: (1) Digital platforms and (2) Telecommunications companies

In 2022, RDR hopes to expand participation among corporations in East Asia. RDR has begun collaborating with three NGOs concerned with digital development: Digital Asia Hub, OCF and Open Net Korea. They are now looking for local corporations in Malaysia, Taiwan and South Korea to evaluate using the RDR system. The evaluation includes three main critera of digital human rights: governance, privacy, and freedom of speech. The evaluation focuses on reviewing the corporations’ work processes and internal policy documents to assess whether they include substantial consideration of digital human rights. OCF is mainly involved in the localization of RDR’s research methods and in collaborating with Taiwanese corporations to produce a standardized evaluation system for corporations’ protection of human rights. Due to the uniqueness of Taiwan’s geo-political status, being both a democratic state deeply ingrained within international trade networks whilst also being at constract threat of economic and political coercion by China, OCF and other Taiwanese civil society groups, experts, corporations are working together to consider how to incorporate considerations of Taiwan’s unique position into the standardized international methodology created by RDR to ensure we produce a meaningful evaluation of the digital human rights records of Taiwanese corporations.

Plan of Implementation

This project is split into five stages. OCF will localize RDR evaluation tools and consider how to address Taiwan’s unique political environment. We will work with NGO’s and share our experience to collaboratively produce a research plan and select Taiwanese corporations with significant influence over digital human rights to evaluate. We will collaborate with the corporations and ask them to provide their policy documents, which OCF will then use these documents and RDR’s standards to produce a digital human rights report and list of suggestions for these corporations. We will also report our findings to our NGO partners and the government, thus planting a firm base for the development of digital human rights in Taiwan.

Expected Results

We hope that by collecting and releasing quantitative data on corporations digital human rights practices, the government, consumers and civil society groups can all better understand the current status of corporate human rights protections and use this information to inform policy decisions. The government will be able to better understand the corporate landscape and establish appropriate norms for digital human rights protections. Consumers will be able to more consciously choose the corporations who best protect their rights, and civil society groups will be able to use this information to engage in all forms of advocacy and activism. At the same time, the corporations themselves will be able to use the results of the evaluation to develop a business model that better protects digital human rights, which will therefore help increase accountability across our digital landscape.

We are Recruiting Corporations in Taiwan!

OCF is currently recruiting corporate partners to join in with RDR. Corporate partners not only receive a report on their digital human rights records, but will also be placed on a ranking alongside globally well known business, thus boosting their international visibility. In addition, RDR’s report can be used by corporations to produce their own corporate social responsibility reports or corporate sustainable development reports.

If you’re interested in this project, please get in contact with us!

header image for 台灣企業數位人權排名

台灣企業數位人權排名

用知識達成責信

數位時代,人權的伸張與資訊產品和服務息息相關!OCF 偕同國際夥伴一起化知識為力量,導入國際標準,評估台灣企業的隱私保護以及言論管制相關規範, 改善舊有企業政策,讓「公(民社會)」、「私(人企業)」共同在邁步國際、促進數位人權的路上攜手前進!

計畫背景

高度數位化的社會中,個人的虛擬生活與實體生活的關係不僅愈發密切,虛擬生活所佔的比重也逐漸上升。在我們的線上生活中,各種權利的行使與保障,皆與企業提供的數位服務息息相關。做為私人部門,企業對各種大型社交平台與通訊服務擁有控制權,因此可以說是數位時代公共領域的維護者,決定使用者的言論與資訊自由。除此之外,企業掌握大量個人的數位足跡,也藉由巨量資料的分享和利用產生收益,其對個人隱私權的影響,也舉足輕重。

近年來,由於「劍橋分析」等企業不當利用個資的重大事件,政府與消費者對於企業維護隱私與言論自由的責任意識與日俱增。網路巨頭例如 Google 、 臉書等,也已在壓力之下,明確承諾會改善公司內部治理、增進政策透明度,確保其企業營運模式能保障人權。歐美各國也相繼推出各種相應法規,例如美國正在研議的聯邦線上隱私法 (Federal Online Privacy Act)、 以及歐盟 2018 年正式實行的 「一般資料保護規則 (General Data Protection Regulation, GDPR)」。這些法案皆加重企業對數位人權保障的責任,例如要求企業進行個資保護影響評估、強化個資侵害事故通報等。其中, GDPR 更將管轄範圍延伸到所有對歐盟公民提供商品和服務的境外企業。在台灣,除了企業服務或資料分享行為侵害隱私的爭議新聞頻傳,中資企業潛在的個人與言論自由監控疑慮也反覆引起關注。 在國家人權委員會及中華民國數位金融交易暨資料保護協會聯合主辦 2022 年 1 月首次舉行的 「數位人權研討會」中,更將企業活動對人權行使的影響視為重大的挑戰。因此,如何在數位化的時代保障人權,是消費者、政府與企業共同關切議題。

OCF 的核心價值在於實踐開放科技,也藉此維護數位時代的公民權利以及網路自由。在 OCF 既有的工作領域中,我們已經面向公民推廣開源軟體創新、也面向國家推廣開放政府資料。面對私人企業,我們又應該有怎樣的行動?我們認為,與國際夥伴和企業攜手協力,共同促進數位平台和服務在人權保障上的透明度,形成良性的競爭與企業責信(Accountability)。由於台灣目前針對企業數位人權的相關資訊較為缺乏, OCF 將採納國際標準生產數據,不僅做為後續推廣倡議,也讓台灣與國際接軌,在數位人權上不缺席!

計畫說明

「企業數位人權排名 (Ranking Digital Rights ,RDR)」是美國公共政策智庫 New America Foundation 所開發的一套全球性評估工具。希望透過一套標準化的方法來衡量各國企業在營運及提供消費者服務時,對數位人權的保障程度。目前參與 RDR 排名的企業橫跨美、非、歐、亞各州,多為具有跨國規模的知名企業。其中,許多企業每年皆有參與,反覆競爭排名作為其重視數位人權的證明。企業類型共分為「數位服務平台(例如社群媒體、電商等)」以及「資訊通訊服務」兩種產業類型。

2022 年, RDR 預期擴大在東亞地區的企業參與。因此與 Digital Asia Hub、OCF、Open Net Korea 三個關注數位數位發展的 NGO 形成跨國夥伴關係,在馬來西亞、台灣與韓國徵集在地企業,進行東亞地區的 RDR 企業數位人權評估。評估的內容包括「公司治理」、「使用者隱私」、「言論自由」三個面向。評估方法主要分析企業內相關政策文件以及作業流程,確保其有充分將數位人權的保障納入考量。 OCF 主要負責進行 RDR 研究方法的在地化,並與台灣企業合作,產生標準化的企業數位人權保障評分。由於台灣的政治地理脈絡特殊,一方面高度融入國際貿易體系、政體民主化 ;另一方面,政經環境卻也面臨中國的巨大影響與威脅,因此,如何將這樣的脈絡納入考量,讓 RDR 國際化的方法能準確反應台灣環境,並正確解讀企業數位人權評分的意涵,是 OCF 要與其它台灣公民團體、專家、企業共同努力的目標。

計畫執行

本計畫共分為五個階段。OCF 將對 RDR 評估工具進行在地化,並考量台灣的政治與制度環境特徵,與其他 NGO 夥伴彼此串連分享經驗,共同進行研究流程設計,選擇具有高度數位人權影響力的台灣企業進行評估。本計畫將和企業合作,由企業協助提供政策資料,OCF 將依據 RDR 標準提供公司數位人權報告與建議書,同時也將整體計畫成果與 NGO 夥伴和政府分享,作為後續台灣企業數位人權發展的基礎。

預期成果

藉由蒐集企業數位人權的量化資料,政府、消費者、公民團體皆可深入了解企業保障數位人權的情形,並近一步用於各種決策之中。政府可以更了解產業生態、形成適切的企業數位人權規範;消費者也能有充分資訊選擇盡職保障個人人權的企業產品;公民團體則有知識資源可用於各種倡議行動。相對的,企業也能藉由 RDR 評估結果,發展出更加保障數位人權的經營模式,使整體數位環境中的人權責信 (Accountability ) 獲得提升。

台灣企業募集中!

OCF 正在募集企業合作夥伴共同參與 RDR 。企業除了可以獲得關於自身數位人權保障的評估報告之外,也有機會與其他知名國際企業一起排名,增加能見度。除此之外,RDR 評估結果也適用於作為企業社會責任報告、或企業永續發展報告的內容。

如果您對本計畫有興趣,請與我們聯繫!

相關活動