2020 Annual Report | Open Culture Foundation

The Origin of Open Culture

The idea of open culture was born from the open source movement. The movement advocates that the source code of software should be open and allow people to access freely. As the movement moves forward, its spirit of openness, transparency, and accessibility have been applied to formations of file formats, digitalization of various kinds of data, and work processes of industries and organizations.
We believe openness makes the world better.
We strive to establish the foundation of open source culture.
We value the culture and development of open source and technology communities.

Learn more about open culture

Donation
OCF’s Key Achievements

Assistance to Communities

Open Culture Foundation (OCF) was founded with the support of many open source and technology communities. Therefore, since its founding, OCF’s most important mission is to serve as a stable fiscal sponsor to projects initiated by open source and technology communities. By doing so, OCF is able to provide stable and systematic administrative and fiscal support to various open source and technology communities.
In 2020, OCF has supported 34 projects initiated by communities. Through fiscal sponsorship, OCF is able to support open and technology communities without legal entity status, facilitate their growth, and make them influential.
Rather than becoming an organization initiating massive and various tasks, OCF expects itself to focus on establishing a healthy environment that connects more communities to care about issues or causes and start more projects.

In 2020, nine new communities have started their cooperation with OCF, which is an important force to move Taiwan’s open source ecosystem forward in this year of challenge.

Running a community requires a lot of work, including hiring, contracts, tax, and dealing with accounting and fiscal affairs. Most of the community members are students or employees at the same time, so the above work could be a huge burden. Moreover, some parts of the work can’t be done without a legal entity. Addressing this problem, OCF is here to assist communities in administrative works.

OCF has initiated the OSCVPass, enabling open source contributors to get their admission tickets to attend open source related conference in Taiwan through a one time application. By applying for OSCVPass, open source contributors can acquire various discount admission tickets or benefits of open source related conferences and events. In 2020, there were 212 applicants, and 168 of them have been accepted and granted benefits by SITCON, COSCUP, MOPCON, g0v Summit.
Picture on the left:AW-75068, COSCUP on Flickr, CC BY-SA

Advocacy through Connecting Various Networks


In today’s digital era, all kinds of issues in human society are relevant to application of technology.
Through long-term partnership with technology communities and cooperation with civil society organizations on advocacy,
OCF expects itself to become a bridge and platform connecting civil society organizations, technology communities, and government apparatuses in Taiwan and abroad.
By doing so, OCF is able to enable more people to apply the spirit and mechanism of open source and openness to their disciplines, and help civil society to harness technology tools in this ever-changing digital era.

The concept of freedom and open source is applied everywhere in our daily life. That’s why OCF has held 20 series events to update the general public on new trends of open source. Topics of these events included the ABCs of open source, open source compliance management, methods to sustain an open source community, applications of open source in 5G telecommunications projects, and various subjects on open source. These events have attracted more than 800 participants in total.
Picture on the left:JRY_0569, COSCUP on Flickr, CC BY-SA

Digital technology has been penetrating our society and made our lives easier. However, concerns about personal data breaches, infringement of privacy, manipulation of public opinion, and the spread of infodemic are growing as our use of digital technology is increasing. Addressing this challenge, OCF strives to advance internet freedom through advocacy, gatherings, connecting international and domestic communities, and various approaches that can raise people’s awareness.
Picture on the right:民主意象, Studio Incendo, CC BY 2.0

In 2020, Taiwan’s Executive Yuan and Legislative Yuan have respectively initiated the Open Government National Action Plan and the Open Parliament Action Plan according to international standards on Open Government. OCF joined this initiative as a partner in civil society, holding Open Government workshops in cooperation with the government. Through these workshops, OCF and government representatives have shared the goal and international practices of open government with about 100 in-person and more than 1,000 online attendees. Also, OCF has served as one of civil society members for the first Open Parliament Committee, and thus will practically participate in the formation of Open Parliament Action Plan.

Advocacy through Connecting Various Networks

Advocating Open Culture

What is open culture? People always ask this question when they know OCF for their first time.
Open culture is about how to make “open” as a kind of culture that inspires and accelerates exchanges of ideas between different communities and disciplines. For instance, governments and civil society will be able to find the model of exchange and collaboration when open culture is shared in these two different communities. With the help of technology, they can broaden their copperations in more areas, such as source code and data.
OCF strives to let more people learn the importance of open culture - it makes human achievements shared by all human beings instead of being controlled by a specific group under this ever-changing digital era.
OCF also aims to help people to understand what “open technology” is, and thereby realizing what impact human beings will encounter when technology is inaccessible and closed. Based on that, OCF can encounrage people to imagine what a free and shared digtial technology environment could be like.

OCF Lab is a platform that encourages knowledge exchange between organizations in different disciplines and communities in Taiwan and abroad through interpreting new knowledge, collecting information, and making brief case studies.
OCF Lab focuses on open culture, open technology, digital human rights, internet freedom and other relevant issues. In 2020, the Lab published 42 weekly digests and 72 English and Manderin articles. 25 among the 72 articles were also edited and published as columns on many online media websites.

To know and support more about Open Culture, download here.
Photo:OMH_3364, COSCUP on Flickr, CC BY-SA

Financial Report

2020 OCF Annual Income

OCF Projects NT$ 11,132,422
Community Projects NT$ 28,669,188
Total NT$ 39,801,610

2020 OCF Annual Spending

OCF Projects NT$ 11,243,652
Community Projects NT$ 26,702,875
Total NT$ 37,946,527

We keep moving forward because of your support.

Board members:Pofeng, honki, Bob Chao, clkao, kc chen.
Volunteers:ETBlue, ipa, isabel, Lucien, marr, miaoski, Muka, yayared.
Staff:Singing, Rock, Lulu, Aiya, Rosa, Xini, Claire, kting, TC, huangfu, leaf, 小知.

Sponsors

We appreciate Archlife Research Foundation’s support in all our projects and events, and our individual donors.

Follow OCF on Facebook.

Subscribe EDMs.

開放文化基金會 2020 成果報告

開放文化的起源

開放文化起源於訴求軟體應該公開其原始程式、讓所有人能自由存取的開放原始碼運動,從軟體開始,將開放、透明、讓眾人能存取的精神,擴展到文件的格式、各種數位化的資料、產業和組織的工作流程中。
我們相信開放讓世界更美好
我們努力建設開源文化根基
我們重視社群的文化和發展

看更多關於開放文化

捐款支持
OCF 活動重點成果

社群支援

OCF 的成立,是由多個開源、科技社群共同發起而開始,因此從成立一開始,透過法人組織穩定支援社群專案,使具有各種樣貌、特性的科技社群得以獲得系統化的基礎行政和財務服務,就是 OCF 最大的任務!
2020 年,OCF 共支援了 34 個社群專案,透過這樣的法人服務 (Fiscal Sponsor) 支持無法人實體的開源、科技社群茁壯發展,發揮更多社會影響力。
OCF 不需要成為包山包海的組織,我們期許自己能打造一個健康的環境,捲動更多社群一起關心議題、開創更多專案。

2020,有 9 個新社群與 OCF 展開合作,讓台灣的開源生態系,在這艱難的一年間仍有所茁長、不停邁步。

對於平日忙於課業和事業的社群夥伴們,社群營運會面臨到的人事聘雇、合約簽立和財會稅務的事務不但令人傷神,且缺乏法人身份也無法進行,因此由 OCF 協助社群完成這些複雜繁瑣的工作。

研討會的貢獻票和好康總搶不到?OCF 推出 OSCVPass(開源貢獻者快速通關)特別服務,讓辛勞的開源貢獻者不再慢人一步。只要提早用自己的開源貢獻申請專案資格,就能輕鬆快速地獲取研討會活動的各式優待票或好康福利。2020 年,共有 212 人申請,168 人通過並獲得 SITCON、COSCUP、MOPCON、g0v Summit 提供的專屬開源貢獻者福利。
左圖:AW-75068, COSCUP on Flickr, CC BY-SA

議題串連


數位時代的人類社會,各類議題或多或少都與科技應用互相連結。
藉由與科技社群的長期夥伴關係、與公民團體的議題合作,
OCF 期許能成為不同領域跟科技交流的橋樑和平台,串聯國內外的民間組織/科技社群/政府機關,
讓更多人得以把開源、開放的精神和機制帶到各自的領域發揮,也讓公民社會使用科技工具更加純熟,以因應多變的數位時代。

自由、開源的概念被運用在生活多處,OCF 從基礎的開源概念到開源軟體合規管理,從開源社群經營到 5G 電信專案開源應用,累積 20 場次分享、800+ 人次參與,以不同主題讓大眾了解開源的發展趨勢。
左圖:JRY_0569, COSCUP on Flickr, CC BY-SA

無孔不入的數位科技雖帶來便利,但也伴隨著個資外洩、隱私侵犯、輿論操控、假訊息混淆視聽等隱憂。OCF 致力於推廣網路自由議題,期望透過倡議、聚會、串連國內外社群等方式,提升公民社會的關注。

依照國際標準,行政院和立法院在 2020 分別推動「開放政府國家行動方案」和「開放國會行動方案」,OCF 以民間角色協力舉辦相關培力工作坊,與近百名現場學員及線上1000 +人分享開放政府宗旨和國際經驗。另外也擔任第一屆開放國會委員會民間委員,實質參與擬定開放國會行動方案。

議題串連重點成果

開放文化推廣

什麼是開放文化?是初認識 OCF 的人都會問的問題。
從程式原始碼,到資料、政府、公民社會,當「開放」得以形成一種文化,不同群體能夠在不同的素材當中,藉由科技工具找到直接交流和協同合作的模式。
面對快速改變的數位時代,OCF 希望能讓更多人了解開放文化的重要,使社會的成果結晶得以不被單一群體掌控。
而藉由了解開放的科技,也讓人們看見現今數位科技的不開放對人類社會的影響,並一起描繪屬於大家且自由共享的數位科技環境。

OCF Lab 是 OCF 運作的資訊平台,希望藉由資訊轉譯、資料收集、基礎專題研究,成為國內外社群和各個不同領域組織的知識交流平台。
OCF Lab 關心開放文化、開放科技、數位人權、網路自由相關議題。2020 共刊登 42 篇週報、72 篇中英文專文以及其中 25 篇與媒體合作的專欄文章。

想了解更多,想支持並一起推廣開放文化!歡迎前往下載
左圖:OMH_3364, COSCUP on Flickr, CC BY-SA

財務報告

2020 年度 OCF 總收入

基金會自營專案 NT$ 11,132,422
其他社群專案 NT$ 28,669,188
總計 NT$ 39,801,610

2020 年度 OCF 總支出

基金會自營專案 NT$ 11,243,652
其他社群專案 NT$ 26,702,875
總計 NT$ 37,946,527

因為有你們,我們得以一直前進

超能董事:Pofeng, honki, Bob Chao, clkao, kc chen.
熱血志工:ETBlue, ipa, isabel, Lucien, marr, miaoski, Muka, yayared.
OCF員工:Singing, Rock, Lulu, Aiya, Rosa, Xini, Claire, kting, TC, huangfu, leaf, 小知.

感謝贊助好夥伴

感謝祐生研究基金會年度計畫贊助,如果您也認同開放文化基金會的理念,歡迎加入贊助我們的行列!

追蹤 OCF,活動不會錯過!

訂閱 EDM,開源資訊不漏接

每月 300 元,支持我們繼續走下去

現在就捐款